Skip to content ↓

John Milton Academy Trust

These schools are part of the John Milton Academy Trust. Click on the school's logo to visit their website.

Bacton logoCedars Park logoThe John Milton logoMendlesham logoStowupland logoMulberry logo

Houses and Rewards

There are six Houses: Boudicca, Clarkson, Ryder, Wolsey, Edmund and Anderson. These personalities from history represent diverse backgrounds and an equal gender split and they range from the rampaging Iceni warrior Queen Boudicca to Thomas Clarkson who helped to put an end to slavery. The Houses compete to win the League each half term. Pupils and staff have been allocated a House and when they win House points through school work, helping out or through competitions they will go toward the House’s score. There are approximately 175 pupils in each House and around 25 members of staff.

Members of the winning House win a prize each term. This has in the past included ice-cream afternoon, Christmas presents from Santa and hot chocolate and doughnuts.

The new House system is already becoming firmly established as an important part of school life at Stowupland. Rivalries between Boudicca, Anderson, Ryder, Clarkson, Edmund and Wolsey have led to close-fought dodgeball tournaments, foodbank collections, art competitions and even staff quizzes!